Mae'r ddogfen yma ar gael yn Gymraeg

Report to North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority

Annual Meeting

Date 15 July 2024

Lead Officer Gareth Owens, Clerk

Contact Officer Gareth Owens, Clerk (01745 535286)

Subject Appointments to Committees and External Bodies



PURPOSE OF REPORT

The purpose of this report is to invite Members to note membership of the North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority (the Authority) and its committees which has changed since last year. It is also to note the outside appointments such as the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) and the Local Government Association (LGA).

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

There has been one membership change to the Authority since last year and this report updates on the current membership and allocation to committees.

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 3 It is recommended that Members:
 - i) confirm membership of the Authority, appointments to committees and external appointments.

BACKGROUND

- The Authority has a series of committees to which appointments are made at the first or annual meeting. These are set out below.
- The Authority has determined not to apply political balance to the membership of its Committees under regulation 20 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990. Appointments to the Authority's two main committees are made by different methods depending on which constituent authority nominated the member. Standards Committee members volunteer for the position.

6 The Authority is also represented on the following:

Chairs and Chiefs Ministerial Fire and Rescue Liaison Group	The Chair
Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) Council	The Chair
WLGA Co-ordinating Committee	One representative on behalf of the three Fire and Rescue Authorities (FRAs)
WLGA Fire Services Panel	Chair and Deputy Chair
Local Government Association (LGA)	The Chair
LGA Fire Services Forum	One representative on behalf of the three FRAs
Social Partnership Forum	Chair or Deputy Chair

INFORMATION

7 Since July 2023 the membership of the Authority has changed as follows:

Previous Councillor	Current Councillor	Council
Nigel Smith	Sharon Doleman	Conwy

Appointments are made to the following Committees. When membership changes the new member is appointed to the seat of the person they replaced. Membership of each committee is as follows:

Executive Panel (14 members) –

Councillor		Council
Carol	Beard	Conwy
Paul	Cunningham	Flintshire
Chrissy	Gee	Flintshire
Chris	Hughes	Conwy
Alan	Hughes	Denbighshire
John Ifan	Jones	Anglesey
Dylan	Rees	Anglesey
Gareth A	Roberts	Gwynedd
Rondo	Roberts	Wrexham
Paul	Rogers	Wrexham
Gareth	Sandilands	Denbighshire
Dale	Selvester	Flintshire
Rob	Triggs	Gwynedd

Audit Committee (14 members)

Councillor		Council
Bryan	Apsley	Wrexham
Marion	Bateman	Flintshire
Michelle	Blakeley-Walker	Denbighshire
Tina	Claydon	Flintshire
Sharon	Doleman	Conwy
Adele	Davies-Cooke	Flintshire
Jeff	Evans	Anglesey
John Brynmor	Hughes	Gwynedd
Marc	Jones	Wrexham
Gwynfor	Owen	Gwynedd
Beverley	Parry-Jones	Wrexham
Arwyn Herald	Roberts	Gwynedd
Austin	Roberts	Conwy
Mark	Young	Denbighshire

Standards Committee (two members)

Cllrs Marion Bateman (Flintshire) John Brynmor Hughes (Gywnedd) plus 4 co-opted members.

8 The terms of reference of the above committees are included in the Constitution.

IMPLICATIONS

Wellbeing Objectives	Considered not relevant
Budget	Attendance costs will be met from existing allocated budget
Legal	Meetings are held in accordance with the agreed terms of reference. Members are expected to abide by their code of conduct at all times
Staffing	Considered not relevant
Equalities/Human Rights/ Welsh Language	Considered not relevant
Risks	Considered not relevant