BSL Used Here BSL Used Here

Fire and Rescue Authority

Fire and Rescue Authority

The role of North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority is:

to perform all the duties and responsibilities of a Fire Authority in accordance with appropriate legislation and regulations, in particular the Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004, and the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005 - which came into force on 1 October 2006, and the 1995 Combination Scheme

to agree the annual service plans the revenue and capital budgets and the contribution for the constituent councils

to monitor the revenue and capital budgets and deal with any significant variations, including decisions on any supplementary contributions.

North Wales Fire Authority was established as part of the reorganisation of local government on 1 April 1996. It comprises 28 councillors from the six unitary authorities of North Wales: Anglesey County Council (3); Conwy County Borough Council (5); Denbighshire County Council (4); Flintshire County Council (6); Gwynedd Council (5); Wrexham County Borough Council (5). The number of representatives from each constituent authority is determined on a population basis.

Meetings of the full Authority normally take place four times every year - in March, June, September and December - to consider such topics as service plans, routine business matters, budgets and spending, and to take or approve policy decisions as appropriate. Extraordinary meetings of Authority can be called at any time if urgent business requires to be transacted.

The Chair and Deputy Chair are elected at the Annual Meeting held in June.

Further information on the role of the Fire and Rescue Authority and the general guidelines which apply can be found in the Authority's Standing Orders. These can be viewed by following 'the NWFRA's constitution' link at the bottom of this page, or you can request information from the Member Liaison Officer at Fire and Rescue Service Headquarters in St. Asaph.

Meetings are held within North Wales and are open to the public. Should any member of the public wish to have a particular matter raised at one of these meetings, they should contact either the Chief Executive's Office of their constituent council, or the Clerk to the Fire and Rescue Authority, County Hall, County Hall, Mold, Flintshire, CH7 6NB. Tel (01352) 702100.

Reports and minutes of Authority meetings can be viewed below, or at Fire and Rescue Service Headquarters, St. Asaph.

You can access here:

NWFRA's Constitution

Fire and Rescue Authority Members

Fire and Rescue Authority Meetings

Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram

Thank you for your email address

We will shortly provide you with the appropriate information.


Thank you for your request